Indian Super League off to a brilliant start

October 13, 2014 Indian Super League off to a brilliant start @TheRoyaleIndia 754 0 0

Spread the love

On the evening of October 12, 2014, football fans across India and the globe witnessed a brilliant start to the opening ceremony of the Indian Super League by Nita Ambani, the chairperson of IMG-Reliance and Football Sports Development along with Sachin Tendulkar and other top Bollywood celebrities. Football matches under this league are scheduled to take place from October onwards with its finale in December 2014.

opening ceremony isl @TheRoyaleIndia

Considered to be a one of the premier football leagues in India along with the existing I-League, ISL comprises of eight franchise teams across India. Developed on lines of cricket’s Indian Premier League, ISL is used to promote and popularize the game of football across India. Each franchise team will comprise of top international footballers along with best Indian footballers too.

Apart from the game, ISL will also be looking into improving the football stadiums across select locations of Mumbai, Goa, Delhi, Chennai, Kochi, Pune and Guwahati. This implies the eight teams formed are associated with each of these locations, they are –

Team Stadium
Atlético de Kolkata Salt Lake Stadium (Kolkata)
Chennaiyin FC Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Chennai)
Delhi Dynamos Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Delhi)
Goa Fatorda Stadium (Goa)
Kerala Blasters Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Kochi)
Mumbai City FC D Y Patil Stadium (Mumbai)
NorthEast United Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium (Guwahati)
Pune City Balewadi Stadium (Pune)

In the opening match of the ISL, Atlético de Kolkata defeated Mumbai City FC at the Salt Lake Stadium by 3 – 0, the star players of the match were Fikru Teferra Lemessa, Borja Fernández and Arnal Llibert.

kolkata vs mumbai isl @TheRoyaleIndia

Stay tuned for the upcoming matches this week –

October 16 – Atlético de Kolkata vs NorthEast United at Guwahati

October 18 – Mumbai vs Pune City

Categories: miscellaneous