vegan & vegetarian @TheRoyaleIndia

Being Vegan and Vegetarian

April 27, 2014 242 0 0

Many of you may feel that it is the right time to shift from the regular meat diet to vegetarian diet. But let me burst your bubble, have you ever thought of which vegetarian diet would you be opting for? Ok, still if you not sure whether you will want to classify yourself as a vegetarian or a vegan; you should probably start doing your research on different types of vegetarian diets.

You will be surprised to read the strange vegetarian categories such as “semi-vegetarian”, “ovo-lacto vegetarian” and “vegan”. Wondering about what the big deal about this is. Yes, it is more than just not eating meat.

The distinctions between the two categories of vegetarian are comparatively smaller, but extremely important to its followers. For them, these differences aren’t just arbitrary lines, but crucial dietary and ethical decisions.

Not let us examine the Vegan diet and Vegetarian diet in a bit more detail.

VEGETARIAN:

Vegetarians” is the blanket term, which describes people who do not eat meat, seafood or poultry. This includes vegans and other sub categories of vegetarian – such as semi-vegetarian, ovo-lacto vegetarian, ovo-vegetarian, lacto vegetarian, etc.

lacto ovo vegetarian diet @TheRoyaleIndia

Lacto-ovo vegetarians do consume eggs and dairy products along with vegetarian food.

lacto vegetarian diet @TheRoyaleIndia

Lacto-vegetarians consume dairy products but not eggs.

ovo vegetarian @TheRoyaleIndia

On the other hand, ovo-vegetarians consume eggs but refrain from having meat and dairy products.

flexitarian brunch @TheRoyaleIndia

Flexitarian is a new term given to semi-vegetarians who survive on vegetarian food but relish meat occasionally.

These vegetarian groups have fewer restrictions on their diet as compared to the vegans.

VEGAN:

vegan salad @TheRoyaleIndia

Vegan is considered to the strictest group of vegetarians. They do not eat any animal products or any of their by-products. These people restrain themselves from consuming honey, yeast, etc. While you will also come across people who do not wear any clothing that are made from animal products, for example – leather and wool.

Vegans prefer classifying themselves in their own specific group. There are various reasons for a person to opt for a vegan diet. This life style does not allow him/her to consume any kind of animal products in his/her life.

Many people opt for vegan diets for health reasons while some purely for environmental reasons. You may also come across people who become vegans for ethical reasons such as the proper treatment of animals or preservation of animals. If you are planning to be a vegan you can consume the following foodstuff:

  • Beans

  • Soya and soya milk

  • Whole wheat grains

  • Dark green vegetables

  • Oranges

  • Walnuts

  • Apples

  • Peanuts

  • Bananas

Planning your diet:

vegetarian breakfast @TheRoyaleIndia

Dieticians have advised that before you follow any vegetarianism diet practices, it is extremely important that you get thorough idea about it. You need to have proper information about the potential vitamin needs of your body, which may be missed out by not eating several foods. You should study and figure out which group will be suitable for you, if at all you take a step forward to become a vegetarian. You should consider dietary as well as ethical reasons before you choose this lifestyle since it requires certain level of commitment to adhere to the stronger belief levels.

You should get in touch with your doctor, if your vitamin needs are not met. He will suggest some vitamin supplements that will be suitable for your body.

Tags: DietCategories: Healthy Living
Leave a reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.