2014 FIFA World Cup Preview: England @TheRoyaleIndia

England: World Cup 2014 FIFA Team Preview

June 6, 2014 352 0 0

Spread the love

Roy Hodgson @TheRoyaleIndia

Coach:Roy Hodgson

FIFA rank:10


World Cup History: Champions (1966), Semifinals (1990), Quarterfinals (1954, 1962, 1970, 1986, 2002, 2006)

England have undoubtedly been placed in the Group of Death at this year’s FIFA World Cup in Brazil. The road to Brazil 2014 was not as smooth as their campaign to reach South Africa, where they won nine of their ten matches on the way to the 2010 finals.

Wayne Rooney @TheRoyaleIndia

England finished top of European Group H to reach the 2014 FIFA World Cup™ after securing victory on the final match day against Poland, banishing the demons of four decades earlier when a draw against the same opponents saw the Three Lions miss out on the 1974 tournament.

Wayne Rooney was the team’s leading scorer in the qualifying campaign with 7 goals, while Frank Lampard and Danny Welbeck scored 4 goals each.

History at the World Cup

England have appeared at 13 editions of the FIFA World Cup, including seven of the last eight. They were below-par at South Africa in 2010, narrowly qualifying from their group with a victory in the final match against Slovenia, before being outclassed 4-1 by Joachim Low’s Germany at the round of 16 stage.

England first participated in the FIFA World Cup in 1950 and were eliminated in the first round itself. The country hosted the event in 1966, and won the trophy, making it one among eight host teams to have ever won the World Cup.

However, the record of the team has been rather average since the win in 1966, and except for a semi-final appearance in the 1990 World Cup in Italy, the team has never managed to live up to expectations.

1966 FIFA winners @TheRoyaleIndia


For the first, the hyperbole about England potentially lifting the trophy is absent. As the ‘Golden Generation’ is ushered out, young players are coming in, and with that has come an acceptance that England aren’t really major contenders for the title. But they are by no means the no-hopers many in the English media make them out to be. There is pace, power and a little bit of genius in this team.

Liverpool’s English players performed excellently in the 2013-14 Premier League season which means that a large portion of England’s team consists of Liverpool players. Steven Gerrard, Jordan Henderson, Daniel Sturridge, Raheem Sterling and Glen Johnson are all expected to be including in Hodgson’s starting XI.

Everton’s Ross Barkley finds a spot in the 23-man squad as well, as do Luke Shaw’s Southampton teammates Adam Lallana and Rickie Lambert. Wayne Rooney will be expected to lead the attack and the striker will be keen to put on a good show after below-par performances in the previous World Cups. Frank Lampard is unlikely to be a regular starter for the team, but his vast experience will add value to the youthful squad and Hodgson will expect him to mentor the youngsters.

Arsenal duo Alex Oxalde-Chamberlain and Jack Wilshere too find themselves named in the starting XI.

Two other young talents, Theo Walcott and Jay Rodriguez, might have been in his squad for Brazil, if they had not been sidelined with serious injuries.

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United).

Standby: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC).


Roy Hodgson is widely respected in the world football community for he has vast knowledge having managed 16 teams across various countries. He guided the Swiss national team to the Round of 16 in the 1994 World Cup and later managed the Finnish national side and took them to 33rd place in the FIFA rankings – their highest ever.

The position of the English national team manager is considered to be the pinnacle for English coaches, and after guiding the team to a successful qualification into the 2014 World Cup, Hodgson will be keen to enhance his credentials with a good show from his side in the tournament.

Player to watch out for: Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney remains England’s greatest talent and his seven goals in six World Cup qualifying starts underlined his importance to Roy Hodgson’s side.

It is hard to believe this World Cup will mark ten years since the then-Everton player took EURO 2004 by storm. Since then, problems with fitness, form, indiscipline and off-field dramas have plagued his major tournament build up.

But he seemed mature, fit and settled at Old Trafford this season and there is no reason why he can’t carry his glittering form into the World Cup.

Best starting XI

(4-3-3 Formation)

Goalkeeper: Joe Hart
Defenders: Glen Johnson, Gary Cahill, Phil Jagielka, Leighton Baines
Midfielders: Jordan Henderson, Steven Gerrard, Jack Wilshire
Forwards: Danny Welbeck, Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge


England find themselves along with former champions Italy and Uruguay, and Costa Rica in a tough Group D which is touted by many as the “Group of Death”.

If the team performs to its potential, there is no reason why they cannot reach the knockout stages. The injury to Luis Suarez could be a big blow to Uruguay, and England & Italy can be expected to progress from the Group of Death to the Round of 16.

Spread the love

Further reading: FIFA Blast, FIFA Team, Team England FIFA
Categories: Movies